Hello World!

This is the beginning of another new blog for me.  This one will be focused on my digital art.  I tried starting a blog about this subject before, but then I lost interest for awhile, and then switched to another wordpress account, and….. well, life happens you know.

Recently I started gaining interest in digital art again and decided to break out my Wacom Bamboo Splash digital drawing tablet and start learning how to use Artrage.  I am amazed at what it can do, and what I can learn to do with it to build my art skills.

I have always had an appreciation and interest in art, and seeing other people create art is always amazing to me.  Although I always wished I could draw or paint, I never really applied myself to develop any skills until I discovered digital art.  From my earliest memories as a child, I remember drawing a portfolio of made up criminal characters, and throughout life have at one time or another made simple doodles, but nothing to say wow about.  I can remember in my teenage years, I learned how to draw Garfield (you know, the orange comic fat cat), and I would draw the same drawing over and over, usually in my notebooks during class in school…. beyond that, I never really got into trying to draw much.

In the early 2000’s, I sort-of got interested in trying to learn how to paint with acrylic paint.  I went out and bought a canvas, some brushes, a basic artist acrylic paint set, and a cheap easel.  I took my supplies home from the store, set everything up, and I thought painting an abstract painting would be a blast… and it was, in a way.  I remember dabbing paint on the canvas in various colors that I had experimented mixing from the primary colors that came in the paint set I had, and then moving the paint all over the canvas with a large brush.  I ended up with something that looked like rainbowish clouds of dark colors mixed with pastel colors… and honestly, the painting did not look good to me (and eventually I ended up tossing it in the garbage)… but I enjoyed the experience of trying it out.  I never did another painting with real paint again after that though, and those art supplies I had bought just sat around and collected dust for a few years before I finally threw them out.

Now in 2014, I’m realizing with my new interest in digital painting, that there must be an artist in me somewhere trying to break loose, and that maybe this time around I may have found something that interests me enough to start creating some neat artwork that people will enjoy.  In my first experience with painting I learned quickly that there is a lot to learn in order to become good at it, and honestly I don’t think that I would have had the patience (nor the money to keep buying all the supplies needed) to learn some of the things that I’ve learned while digital painting in Artrage.  I am totally fascinated by how almost real the experience is while painting in Artrage with my drawing tablet.  It’s almost like having a real canvas, real paint, and a real brush… but without the clutter.  I could say a lot more about my preferences for digital painting over painting with the real stuff, but for now, I will save that for another time.  I’m actually working on a list for another blog post on that subject which I will post once it’s finished…. I’m still debating all the pros/cons.

dtpiixart_infinite_painter_2014-05-25-1813

Since I’m not currently ready to present any artwork I’ve created in Artrage (but I will soon), I will start out by posting the image above. It’s an abstract painting I did on my android smartphone with a cool paint app called Infinite Painter.

So welcome to my new blog, and I hope you enjoy the upcoming art I will be posting. My three biggest current art interests right now, are abstract, human male physique, and fish, so you will probably see a lot of that.

About David Thrift

I am a photographer, artist, craftsman, outdoorsman, blogger, and owner of Mudpix Magazine & Prints, a self published photo magazine featuring my outdoor photography, residing in East Alabama, and I also sell prints of my photography and art. Photography and getting outdoors are my two favorite things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

